Why have you chosen not to teach your children about God?


Why have you chosen not to teach your children about God? For me this question stands out more than the other one because I had no choice in the matter of getting baptised as a baby and growing up in a Christian family until I had started to get wound up by it all and didn’t want to go anymore by the age of 16 I think it was. Even though it was a constant battle between my parents at the time because they had wish they could of kept my brothers going for a bit while longer. However what got me so mad one day was that my sister never got baptised until she was 6 or 7 and she had made the decision herself with no pressure from anyone. I’m like so she got the option and we never did. I question it now and then but I don’t believe in it at all. 

What I’m trying to say is that you can’t force a child to believe in something from the minute they are born because they may not won’t to at the time. It’s the child’s voice and the child’s mind to be make up what they think. If my kids wanted to know more about God and want to learn then I’ll take them to church. They can find their own path of what they believe than pressuring them to do something that they don’t want to do. If you teach them right and wrong to begin with they will turn out the way you want them weather it’s having God in their life or not. At the end of the day it’s their choice of what they want to believe not what you have to say.  I still get wound up until this day about it all because my parents always find away in talking about on a Sunday or through out the week. Yeah it’s their opinion and they are allowed to talk about it but it’s like constant work or church. Church or work. Work or church or something completely different. Anything else wildly exciting to talk about than other listening to the same crap over and over again. 

Leave a Reply

